Bangladesh lose against New Zealand


ICC Under-19 World Cup Logo. Photo: UNBBangladesh Under-19 cricket team conceded four wickets defeat against New Zealand in their second official warm-up match at St. John’s College ground in Johannesburg, South Africa on Wednesday, ahead of the 13th edition of ICC U-19 World Cup 2020, set to begin in South Africa on 17 January.

Hosts South Africa will play Afghanistan in the opening match on 17 January at Diamond Oval in Kimberley, reports UNB.

The rain-interrupted first warm-up match between Bangladesh and Australia ended in a tie on 13 January at the Villiers Oval in Pretoria. Australia scored 250 for all in reduced 43 overs in reply to Bangladesh’s 250 for 6 in 43 overs.

Sent to bat first in the day’s second warm-up match, the young tigers were bundled out cheaply for 112 runs in just 29 overs losing first five wickets for only 23 runs in 6.2 overs.

After the initial batting collapse, consistent performer Towhid Hridoy and captain Akbar Ali partly repaired the damage contributing 57 runs in the 6th wicket stand. But they failed to make a fighting total.

Towhid Hridoy scored 46-ball 36 runs hitting five boundaries while Akbar Ali scored 45-ball 23 runs featuring three fours. All-rounder Shamim Hossain made 25-ball 20 runs with two fours and one six.

JFA Field grabbed four wickets for 35 runs while A. Ashok took three for 35 runs.

In reply, New Zealand easily reached their target scoring 115 runs for the loss of six wickets in 29.3 overs. Kiwi captain JH Taskoff hammered an unbeaten 41 off 42 deliveries with five 4’s.

Besides, RA Mariu (32), QLM Sunde (not out 19) and FF Lellman (11) were the other notable scorers for the Kiwis.

Tanzid Hasan claimed three wickets for 30 runs while Rakibul Hasan took two for 39.

The Young Tigers left Dhaka for South Africa on 3 January, under the leadership of wicket-keeper batsman Akbar Ali and conducted a 10-day training camp there before the World Cup.

Sixteen teams, split in to four groups, will initially participate in the ICC U-19 global meet from 17 January to 9 February.

Holders India, Japan, New Zealand and Sri Lanka are placed in Group A, Australia, England, Nigeria and West Indies are in Group B. Bangladesh, Pakistan, Scotland and Zimbabwe are in Group C while Afghanistan, Canada, South Africa and the United Arab Emirates are in Group D.

Bangladesh will play Zimbabwe in the first match on 18 January at Senwas Park in Potchefstroom, South Africa before taking on Scotland on 21 January at Witrand Cricket field in Potchefstroom and Pakistan on 24 January at Senwas Park in Potchefstroom.

After the group matches, top two teams of each group will qualify for the Super League (quarter-finals) while the bottom two teams will have to play in Plate stage (quarter-finals).

The winners of Super League (quarter-finals) will advance to the semi-finals while the winners of the Plate (quarter-finals) will qualify for the Plate semi-finals.


Source From

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *